Powtoon

powtoon

Want to take your presentation skills up another level from Prezi? Then powtoon is the new web 2.0 tool for you!

This is a simple tool which I have finally (and excitingly) getting around to using!

what is powtoon

Powtoon is a cheap, but a fun-filled and easy way of creating presentations and animated movies. To make your video simply drag and drop the characters to the movie area and add text. A great feature is the ability to export straight to youtube, no hassle, no fuss. (Appstorm)

Appstorm description of Powtoon is one of the best descriptions I have come across in describing Powtoon. It is a simple and easy to use website and app which allows you to create interactive videos and presentations which will enhance your classroom.

I have had an account for Powtoon for a while now but have not been 100% sure what to use it for. However, watching students beginning their Christmas Exams I have had a few chuckles from students with my smiley face ‘Good luck’ signs on the whiteboard and around the classroom around the room. Thus, I have become motivated to take it up a notch and create a good luck video which will make them not only smile but also bring more web 2.0 tools into the classroom. Powtoon was the solution to this!

 

 

I found the layout simple and easy to use. There was no hair pulling frustrating moment that I have had trying to wrap my mind around other web 2.0 tools such as flubaroo and kidblog.

Signing up was easy as I already had an account (watch for when they run free promotions to sign up – they are reasonably priced for what they offer).

The tutorial was easy to follow and for those of us who don’t have a huge amount of patience in regards to tutorial videos – they have managed to show you the basics of how to make a Powtoon in less than five minutes. I can not convey how glad I was to be able to learn how to learn a Web 2.0 tool in a matter of mere minutes

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaand this was the result:

https://www.powtoon.com/online-presentation/eVsjMUJQ035/untitled2/#/

Though it is a basic Powtoon – for my first attempt and the smiles and eye rolls it will create I’m pleased with the result! I plan on editing it with a bit of Christmas Cheer as well!

twitter education

Want to know more about Powtoon via another web 2.0 tool a.k.a. twitter!

Leave a Reply

